Subscribe via RSS Feed

Task Force to Meet to Review Next Generation Science Standards

August 20, 2013 0 Comments

The Iowa Department of Education announced last week that a new state task force will be meeting to review the Next Generation Science Standards.

The task force has 28 members:

  • DeEtta Andersen, Science Teacher, Center Point-Urbana Community School District, Center Point
  • Ross Brunner, Student, Marion High School, Marion
  • Kelly Carr, Science Teacher, Lewis Central Community School District, Council Bluffs
  • Carleigh Cass, Student, Central Lee Middle School, Donnellson
  • Leslie Flynn, Professor in Science Education, University of Iowa, Iowa City
  • Ken Harrison, Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment, Chariton Community School District, Chariton
  • Melissa Hesner, Science Consultant, Area Education Agency 267, Cedar Falls
  • Jill Jennings, Parent and Substitute Teacher, Spirit Lake  
  • Dan Kelley, State Representative, Newton
  • Mike Knedler, State Board of Education Member, Council Bluffs
  • Jerrid Kruse, Professor of Science Education, Drake University, Des Moines
  • Christopher Like, Science Teacher, Bettendorf Community School District, Bettendorf
  • Mark McDermott, Senior Test Development Associate, ACT, Inc., Iowa City
  • Leslie Miller, Professor of Computer Science, Iowa State University, Ames
  • David Moore, Hardware Operations Manager-Council Bluffs, Google, Council Bluffs
  • Scott Moran, School Improvement Coordinator, Denison Community School District, Denison
  • Nancy Movall, K-12 Online Learning Specialist, Iowa’s Area Education Agencies, Council Bluffs
  • Denise Mulcahy, Director of Teaching and Learning, Diocese of Des Moines
  • Dawn Posekany, Science Teacher, Solon Community School District, Solon
  • Joseph Schwanebeck, Director of Education, Science Center of Iowa, Des Moines
  • Amy Sinclair, State Senator, Allerton
  • Stacey Snyder, Science Education Instructor, Wartburg College, Waverly
  • Joshua Steenhoek, Elementary Teacher, Pella Community School District, Pella
  • Kevin Vidergar, Director of Teaching and Learning, Perry Community School District, Perry
  • Kimberly Villotti, Education Consultant, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
  • Kari Webb, Regional STEM Manager, Governor’s STEM Initiative, Estherville
  • Mike Wedge, Science Teacher and Science/STEM Coordinator, Sibley-Ocheyedan Community School District, Sibley
  • Aaron Wills, Student, Central Lee Middle School, Donnellson

The first meeting will be held tomorrow, August 21st from 9:00a – 3:00p at the Science Center of Iowa (401 W. Martin Luther King, Jr. Parkway in Des Moines).  Two other task force meetings have been scheduled for Sept. 18 and Oct. 16 at the same location and times. Meetings will be open to the public.

About the Author: Shane Vander Hart

Shane Vander Hart founded Iowans for Local Control in 2012. Shane also is the founder and editor-in-chief of Caffeinated Thoughts and the founder and president of 4:15 Communications, LLC, a social media & communications consulting/management firm.  You can connect with Shane on Facebook or follow him on Twitter and Google +.